Splash Splash

My son loves water, he didn’t always, when we first got into the bath routine he wasn’t happy about his clothes coming off or getting wet and that’s before you even start getting water near his face or ears.

This all changed when he started to sit up on his own. He had discovered what his hands could do and bath time took on a whole new meaning. He gets excited when his clothes come off because he knows what’s to come and he just loves splashing around in the water and even seems to take great delight in getting me or his mum soaking wet.

This leads me into today which was a special day for me with my little man because today I got to go swimming with him. His mum takes him every week but it’s on a Monday and of course yours truly is normally at work. Half an hour of me my son and water, he gets to splash around a small pool to his heart’s content, splashing me, splashing anyone who comes near him. He chases a ball round the pool and occasionally tries to drink the pool as well.

I get to throw him up in the air and splash back in the pool, we stand him on the edge and he jumps in (with me holding him of course). He’s not quite as enthused when he gets a quick dunk but I think it’s important he learns about water going over his head and to not be afraid (this is a learning class after all and not a father son play time…..honest).

It’s the most amazing half an hour, some real bonding time for me and my son in an environment he simply loves and he all the time getting more and more used to water and confident in it.

My only regret is it’s over so quickly, who knew half an hour could go so fast. Maybe soon we can take him to a main pool for some family fun in the water but for now I look forward to my next Monday off work..roll on the August bank holiday.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Nice blog here! Additionally your site rather a lot up very fast!
    What host are you the usage of? Can I am getting your associate hyperlink to
    your host? I desire my web site loaded up as fast as yours lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

