Cartoons today

As a kid I loved cartoons and in my opinion we had so many great ones to choose from. I am sure many of you will remember some if not all of these:

  • Thundercats
  • Dungeons and Dragons
  • Mysterious cities of Gold
  • Dogtanian and the three Muskehounds
  • Vicki the Viking
  • He-man
  • Inspector Gadget

The list of great cartoons goes on and on and whilst they may look a little dated in terms of today’s technology they still (again in my opinion) stand the test of time in terms of quality viewing.

I look at some of the stuff on TV today and find it extremely disappointing. Now we are not for letting our little man watch much TV, but when he does it’s pretty garbage. I have turned on Cbeebies to be confronted by Waybaloo and In the Night Garden, featuring strange creatures that don’t even communicate using words. Not only are they poor viewing but don’t even help towards language skills.

Looking beyond cartoons and towards some more educational programs, what happened to the likes of:

  • Hart Beat
  • Why Don’t You
  • Blue Peter
  • Newsround

Programs that actually tought you something and got you making things and playing games in the great outdoors. Blue Peter I beleive is still going but has been bumped from it’s prime time slots and is now only showing once a week.

As a parent now I am also wondering where the classic 5 minute cartoon went, ideal for those parents who don’t want their children in front of the TV for long periods but where something to distract them for 5 minutes is needed. Remember these?

  • Tom and Jerry
  • Mighty Mouse
  • Speedy Gonzalez
  • Danger Mouse
  • Popeye

I do hold my hands up and say I am not well versed with a lot of kids television programs these days and I may be missing some titles that will be of interest both to my son and me as his Father. However, from what I have seen, the entertainment and educational value of a lot of programs are just not what they used to be.

We have found watching Sesame Street on the internet is a better tool for some short viewing. One of the classic programs that is not only still going but hits the right levels for both child and parent alike. Is there a U.K. equivalent that measures up?

All in all I am glad we make the decision not to have the TV on much for him, as frankly I dont like what is available. I am just waiting for him to be old enough to appreciate some of the old title’s I have managed to collect.

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. If you get the chance, watch Show Me Show Me on CBeebies. Very old school and all about using your imagination. We love it.

    Still. It’s no Jamie and his Magic Torch.

    Reply
  2. Jamie and his magic torch how could I not mention that, have the theme tune running round my head now 😀 I will keep an eye out for that one though cheers for the input

    Reply
  3. Loved a lot of those cartoons!! Lydia loves Jake and the Neverland Pirates and she’s learned some Spanish from Dora the Explorer! There are some shows that seem to be bent on inducing epileptic fits or encourage ADHD though!! I swear, every 2 seconds the story changes and it drives me mad. Some of the oldies are weird too though. We watched Alice in Wonderland with Lydia the other week. It was trippin’ awful!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

